Rector’s Palace is a palace in the Croatian City of Dubrovnik, that served as the seat of Rector of the Republic of Ragusa between the 14th century and 1808. The building that stands as the palace today was originally built and completed in 1436 after a fire destroyed the original building in 1435. The building has since been redeveloped many times over the years to different building styles due to earthquakes etc. As well as housing the rector it has also been used as an armoury, watchhouse and a prison. It is now used as a museum and has been since 1872, displaying the history of Dubrovnik; with art, coins, coat of arms and many other objects related to the city.
The palace is situated in west Dubrovnik and is within walking distance of many other major sights in the city.
Opening Times and Admission
The museum in the palace operates on two timetables with it being open from 9am-6pm in the summer (April to October) and 9am-4pm in the winter months (November to March). Entrance to the museum is set at 80KN but you can get a discounted adult with child ticket which is priced at 120KN.