Castle Solitude (Solitude Palace) is a palace in Stuttgart, Germany. It was built from 1764-1769 on the orders of Charles Eugenie, Duke of Wurttemberg and designed by Johann Friedrich Weyhing and Philippe de La Guepiere. The palace is an impressive Rococo structure. The palace was used by Duke Eugenie until he moved elsewhere, it then became a school and an orphanage before being abandoned in the early 20th century. The local authorities invested in the castle in the 1970s and restored the building. The building offers stunning views over the local area.
The palace is situated to the west of Stuttgart. The 92 bus travels from the city centre and stops at the palaces own bus stop ‘Solitude’.
Opening Times and Admission
The palace welcomes visitors but only for a tour of the building. Tours run daily from 1.30pm-4 pm except for Sundays when tours start earlier at 10 am. Admission to the tour is set at 4 euros.