The roofless Carmo Convent and Church is a former place of worship and now ruins in Lisbon, Portugal. The monastic complex was built between 1389 and 1423 by order to Nuno Alvares Pereira, a powerful knight and head of the Portuguese army. The convent lost its function after the 1755 great earthquake which destroyed most of the building. Before that, it was seen as the height of all Gothic religious edifices in Lisbon. Attempts have been made at restoring parts of the building since the earthquake but it is still considered a ruin, although it has been made safe for sightseers to have a look around and experience the roofless convent.
The convent is accessible through the Lisbon transport network. Take the metro, using the green or blue lines, getting off at ‘Baixa/Chiado’.
Opening Times and Admission
The convent is open to visitors six days of the week, with Sundays being its day of closure. From May to September it is open 10am-6pm and from October to April, it is open 10am-5pm. Admission is set at 2.50 euros for adults and 1.50 euros for concessions.